Insomnisnack

dirt bombs, doughnut muffins, or duffins? August 26, 2007

Filed under: baked goods,cupcake,dessert,doughnut muffin,food,sweet — insomnisnack @ 2:58 am

I don’t know what you call them, but I call them “breakfast , lunch, or dinner”. A neighborhood bakery (side note: I was wondering as I post, can you call it a bakery if they don’t bake on said premises? apparently the answer is “yes“.) sells these really delicious pastry. On Saturdays I go by and pick up a treat with coffee. I thought, I can make this! I found several recipes online, but my favorite looked the most like the muffins from the shop I frequent. I followed the recipe, which is not my forte. I’m a girl who likes to improvise. Lo and behold, they turned out exactly the same. I will freeze the extras and thaw for Saturdays and other special occasions!

duffin batter and rising
The recipe yielded loads of dough. I used a “texas” size muffin tin, and filled each cup to the brim. I did have a moment of concern when I saw them rising in the oven. Giantess muffins!

As soon as they are cool enough to handle, brush them with melted butter and roll in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar. Mmmm, try for yourself! Or come over for brunch some time.

combo

 

8 Responses to “dirt bombs, doughnut muffins, or duffins?”

  1. curlykale Says:

    mmmmm… they look delicious and they rose so high! What is the inside texture like?

  2. insomnisnack Says:

    the inside texture is a bit like cake doughnut and dense muffin. it is really good!! the duffin itself isn’t very sweet until you roll it all in buttery sugar + cinnamon. i’ll try to post a photo of the “crumb” so you can see the texture. OR, I’m about to reheat one for myself. come over and split it!

  3. curlykale Says:

    oh now I see! They look good inside!

  4. sprue Says:

    I have tasted them myself and they are as good as if not better than the “duffins” they sell at Sweet Inspirations. I keep forgetting to take on to work. Hopefully they are still some left.

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks! For your kind words, you are permitted full access to the duffin stores. There are plenty in the freezer. Take one out the night before and it will be thawed by morning. Heat for 10 sec in microwave. OR you can keep it wrapped in foil and reheat in oven.

  6. insomnisnack Says:

    Update: These froze well! I still pull one out of the freezer on occasion, and it’s good. Not “day-of” tasty, but tasty nonetheless.

  7. Stephanie Says:

    Hi, I was just wondering if I could have the recipe that you used???? That would be so awesome! They look SSSSOOOO GOOODD~
    Thanks a bunch,
    Stephanie
    elliottstephanie@yahoo.com

  8. insomnisnack Says:

    Hey Stephanie – thanks for your comment!

    The recipe was mentioned on another site and is called Kathleen’s Doughnut Muffins by Carrie Brown, John Werner, and Michael McLaughlin from The Jimtown Store Cookbook (HarperCollins)

    Here’s the link:
    http://www.thefoodsection.com/foodsection/2006/07/neither_muffin_.html


Leave a Reply

