Insomnisnack

Summer Refresher part II: korean BBQ kebabs September 4, 2007

Filed under: dessert,food,friends,herbal spritzer,kebabs,savory,seitan,vegan — insomnisnack @ 12:38 pm

I have often been welcome at the family table of one of my best friends – there his mother shared exquisite meals and family recipes. Although my friend has moved away from home, (he now lives with me in SF) his mom still sends foodlove, double ziplocked and tupperwared for safe travel all the way to her son’s tummy. He’s 35! It’s really sweet. The best part is that on many occasions, once she learns your favorites, she’ll send a sizable helping of those, too. Thank you, Mrs. Kim!

I found a marinade online for vegan seitan Korean BBQ, but next time I’ll try this one: “Seitan cut into strips, marinated with tamari (soybean sauce), garlic, ginger, brown sugar, sesame oil, scallions, and [toasted] sesame seeds”. I used hunks of marinated seitan, slices of corn ears, cherry tomatoes, red onion, and orange bell pepper. Very “meaty”! Served over a bed of brown rice.

korean bbq seitan kebabs

Also, as promised, a second summer refresher!! Cold brewed “Black Cherry Berry” tea with hibiscus yummy, slices of lemon from our landlord’s tree, and a splash of grapefruit pop. Ahhh…

hibiscus black cherry berry spritzer

Leah stopped by, and is shown enjoying a dessert (I will catch hell for this!) of grilled white peaches, honey drizzle, and mascarpone.

leah + peach

I do the best I can as a friend, in my ability to forgive others, in my willingness to forgive myself, and in eeking my heart open a little for those around me. This b-b-q is dedicated to my friend Andy – I’m not always a good friend, but I love you.

 

8 Responses to “Summer Refresher part II: korean BBQ kebabs”

  1. sprue Says:

    Aw, I love you to bud. I actually wanted more of that fake meat. It was super-convincing!

  2. insomnisnack Says:

    I’ll make more, but never call me “bud”. Feels like your hand on my back.

  3. denisem718 Says:

    I think the kebabs look wonderful. I’m not usually won over by a vegetarian main dish where faux meat is the star, but this has me rethinking my bias. I’m definitely interested in the black cherry berry tea. That would make a delicious cocktail with Hangar One Raspberry Vodka. Yum!

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks, Niece! Yes, it would! Original credit goes to Larisa (and Celestial Seasonings) for that tea blend. It is very thirst quenching. I will likely experiment with other juice and pop add-ins.

  5. bilski Says:

    You are a great friend Alecia and the food you prepare is always creative, delicious and full of the love you put into it. I’ll try not to stage a conflict resolution next time I “stop by”.

  6. insomnisnack Says:

    Deal.

  7. J. Dane Says:

    hi, i cam across your blog via google/”kebab recipe’s” …just wanted to say that it all looks great! I wanted to try the kebabs and tea my self…was seitan homemade? and the tea..can you send me your recipe for it??..thanks!!

  8. Jessie Says:

    hey..i love your blog..im addicted..i need help with your seitan…how do i??? im a veggie..and this is very resourceful…

    email me, please…

    jessiedane@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

