Insomnisnack

veggie pesto pizza ‘n beer September 5, 2007

There are forces in this world I don’t understand. Not a very profound statement, but I am confused! Am I supposed to just follow signs, “understand”, and live life for what it seemingly brings me or wants of me? Or do I react to messages that run counter to my wishes and wants? Don’t know. Can’t she just stick to the food?, you might wonder. Uh, yes. ‘Cause that I do understand. That, and lemon colored lion t-shirts (see end of post).

So the pursuit of life’s simplicity brings me to today’s post: pizza ‘n beer. This is one of my favorite pizzas! Partially because I was hungry for dinner and didn’t have to make the crust, but mostly because this is really tasty bread. I used a flatbread available for purchase and immediate consumption. My second favorite pizza involves homemade crust with olive oil and cornmeal baked on the bottom. I went again to my loving, family run, local grocer Golden Produce on Church St. For about $10 I got organic components to make my dinner and lunch for the remainder of the week. Today’s toppings: fresh mozzarella, pesto, basil, heirloom tomato slices, and mushroom. Today’s beer: Hoegaarden

veggie pesto pizza

Today’s t-shirt: Raaawwr!!!!

leash - Roar!!!!

 

9 Responses to “veggie pesto pizza ‘n beer”

  1. curlykale Says:

    oh my gracious. must you wallop me daily with cuteness? too adorable for words.

    and pizza and beer too? ay yi yi

  2. denisem718 Says:

    The pizza looks delicious! A great idea to use a flatbread instead of making the crust. I love the toppings and looking at your frosty glass of Hoegaarden is making me really want a beer and it’s only 9:22am here!

    I also love the t-shirt, great thing to wear when you are feeling ferocious, yet intellectual.

  3. insomnisnack Says:

    Yes. I must wallop you daily, if not hourly, with cuteness!

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    I like that, Niece – my new motto is “ferocious, yet intellectual”. Plus, nature has provided me with my own mane! I think we need to have a homemade Hovan entry soon. MMMM!

  5. denisem718 Says:

    I like the idea of a homemade Hovan entry. I also had another idea as I was eyeing my panini maker…what about a panini night? You do well with the sweet and savory panini. Just a thought…

  6. insomnisnack Says:

    Those panini were amazing! I will give some thought to possible flavor/texture/color combinations. Don’t want to spoil the element of surprise for you!! (Funny, ’cause I hate suprises, but I know you love them.)

  7. denisem718 Says:

    I do love surprises! I can’t wait to see what your next special dish will be. Think of something that will highlight your amazing food photography skills, as they say, we eat first with our eyes!

  8. sprue Says:

    I sure would love to try one of these. Yes siree, I’ve tasted many of the dishes here but not this one. Nope. Yum…

  9. insomnisnack Says:

    Wow, that is some major hinting! Yeah, these were very good. So easy to make! It’s one of my favorite things to cook since it’s easy to change the toppings and sauces day to day while the bread lasts. Reminder: you have many, many times had the previous versions, which were on thick lavash.


Leave a Reply

