Insomnisnack

Ice cream sodas w/ jalapeño simple syrup September 8, 2007

Filed under: drinks,dutch chocolate,floats,food,honey,ice cream,lavender,ricotta — insomnisnack @ 10:15 pm

I made an amalgam ice cream today. It was a simple ricotta cheese ice cream recipe (no rum), and I added Lavender, lemon zest, and honey (RLLH). Very tasty – rich in texture, but light at the same time, if you can imagine. This was the guest star for drink #1: Puree jalapeño in a simple syrup. Add 1 oz of mixture to glass, and a small scoop of RLLH ice cream. Fill remaining with seltzer. Drink #2: Add 1 oz of jalapeño simple syrup mixture to glass, add a small scoop of chocolate (Straus Dutch Chocolate) ice cream, and fill remaining with seltzer. These were both really good! I think all tasters were in agreement that it could be spicier – my thumb-sized jalapeño selection was surprisingly mild. I even blended in the membrane and seeds! Next time I’ll blend the pepper in a bit of water, instead of simple syrup, and add that mixture to the drink. I’m sure it’s plenty sweet without the extra sugar. Other than that, the RLLH + jalapeño soda was the winner! Who knew?

ice cream

Slightly ominous green liquid in an old honey jar…

jalapeño puree

Finished product!

ice cream soda!

 

10 Responses to “Ice cream sodas w/ jalapeño simple syrup”

  1. curlykale Says:

    brilliant!

  2. insomnisnack Says:

    you’re sweet – thank you!

  3. denisem718 Says:

    They sound delicious! I would really like to try this ice cream soda. I like the lavender and the honey. I haven’t ever had ricotta ice cream, but it makes me think of a mascarpone gelato.

    The chocolate and the jalapeno seemed like a perfect combination, so many chocolates combine spice with dark chocolate. Yum!

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    I like this way of making ice cream sodas! It’s effervescent, but you can control the syrup and sweetness. I do think you would really like the chocolate-jalapeño soda, but with more heat. Promise to make you one!

  5. sprue Says:

    My favorite was the ice cream at the end. The end.

  6. sprue Says:

    My favorite was the ice cream at the bottom!

  7. curlykale Says:

    I had an unsweetened chocolate ginger cayenne drink in Vancouver. it was sooo spicy and good.

    was the ricotta ice cream tangy?

  8. insomnisnack Says:

    Wow, I would love to try the unsweetened chocolate ginger cayenne combo – I can almost taste it! The ricotta ice cream was pretty tangy, especially since there was lemon zest in it. It also has the texture of ricotta, so it’s first smooth, then a little grip-y on your tongue, then smooth again.

  9. insomnisnack Says:

    tangy, but not tart

  10. Lavender, wonderful. I love Japanese Lavender Ice Cream, good to here some others use it as well.
    Japanese Ice Cream


Leave a Reply

