Insomnisnack

beet ravioli turned beet lasagna! September 16, 2007

Filed under: baked goods,beets,food,golden produce,rugelach,savory — insomnisnack @ 11:31 pm

Well I finally made the beet ravioli and they were quite yummy! I got organic golden and purple beets from Golden Produce. The beets roasted for an hour, and were so good just as they were. By the way, I think the recipe will make 1500 ravioli, so after about two dozen I was thinking…lasagna. I don’t want these delicious roasted beets to go to waste, and I’m not able to spend the next 6 hrs stuffing ravioli. I’ve got rugelach to make!! For the lasagna I used the cheeses I had in the fridge, the pasta rounds, and a pureed a can of herb tomatoes for the sauce (no pic). Here’s the ravioli recipe. golden and red beet ravioli

I also made rugelach with apricot preserves, currants, and walnuts. Mmmm! I saw this episode of Barefoot Contessa and really wanted to give the recipe a try. She’s great! So I guess the moral of today’s post is revisiting things you’ve always wanted to do. Enjoy!apricot currant rugelach

 

12 Responses to “beet ravioli turned beet lasagna!”

  1. curlykale Says:

    1500! I could probably eat about 1500 roasted beets by themselves. the ravioli look delicious and are making me hungry. rugelach is great since it’s Rosh Hashanah. Happy new year!

  2. denisem718 Says:

    The ravioli look very good, I love the use of two different colors. I give a hearty shout out to Larisa for sharing her sister’s experience with golden beet ravioli. Aren’t sisters grand?

    I also love the rugelach, I have a legendary sweet tooth. I’m going to go to Star Provisions today and treat myself to some delicious baked goods in tribute to your rugelach.

    I bet the lasagne was delicious too!

  3. insomnisnack Says:

    Happy New Year to you, too! That was part two of what inspired this post. I have one more New Year food that is proofing in the fridge for tonight’s consumption!

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    Yes! Sisters are grand!! I count my lucky starts every day.

  5. curlykale Says:

    Thanks for the shout out Denise! Yay for sisters!

  6. sprue Says:

    The Rugelachs were fantastic. I love the mini currant bites especially and the cinnamon and the pastry and the filling stuff.

    The lasagna I’m waiting until I get home to try. heh heh

  7. insomnisnack Says:

    Unfortunately the beet lasagna was, um…not good. This is okay because my goal was to make the ravioli, which were delicious! I realize now that the major issue with a beet filled lasagna is that it is very, very sweet. And I put a whole heap in! I didn’t have that in mind when I was pulling all the ingredients together, just the thought – “Save the beets!” kept running through my head. Next time I will exercise patience, and freeze the filling. And there will definitely be a next time!

  8. curlykale Says:

    We need a bumper sticker, “Save the beets!” And then we need a car to put it on.

    I’m jealous of those (sprue!) who get to taste what we only see pictures of…

  9. insomnisnack Says:

    Get your tastebuds over here!

  10. insomnisnack Says:

    Larisa, you have absolutely no one to be jealous of, and you’re always at the table.

  11. curlykale Says:

    From my mother:

    “Tell her that I love the aesthetics and I’m one who’s very particular about food and I love how she made things look and I think they look yummy.”

  12. insomnisnack Says:

    Oh, what a nice surprise! That is sweet of her to say (i’m deeply flattered)!! Please give your mother a hug from me. I’d love to make something for her!


Leave a Reply

