Insomnisnack

honey challah September 17, 2007

Filed under: baked goods,challah,food,holiday,homemade bread,honey — insomnisnack @ 10:00 pm

This bread tested me. I had so much doubt while making it! The dough needed to rise twice, in 3 hr increments, doubling, then tripling in size. The process spanned two days, and I often wondered if I’d have to let go and try again, thinking to myself, if this is a sign of the New Year, what exactly was this challah saying? I’ve just torn off the first piece. It is warm, it is sweet, rich, aromatic, and I feel better.

honey challah with cinnamon sugar

 

9 Responses to “honey challah”

  1. denisem718 Says:

    This is a gorgeous loaf of Challah! You know the first bread I ever made was Challah, but a braided load. The round loaf is perfect for Rosh Hashanah. It looks delicious, I would love a taste. You are really an amazing cook! I’m so proud, more cooking magazines for you this year!

  2. curlykale Says:

    Oh beautiful! And as Denise says, the round is just right for Rosh Hashanah–and the honey too.

    Now you know what the challah was saying after all! I bet one of its messages was “have faith.” What a great start for the new year.

  3. sprue Says:

    As the primary taste tester for ARR I can say that this bread is delicious! I got a breakfast-light sized piece hand torn from the curly loaf wrapped in foil and enjoyed it with my cup o’ joe. The skin (?) is sweet and firm but not hard, the dough inside was chewy. Great bread.

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks, Niece! No doubt yours rocked. Remember that Sneakers loved raisin challah?

    I love my cooking magazine subscriptions so much. Maybe next holiday in ATL I can make one for dinner, or we could make one together.

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    So, so true – L
    I need all the practice I can get, no?
    Thanks for your comments!! ❤

  6. insomnisnack Says:

    I will allow a modified title of primary taster, Andy. You have to renew your license a minimum of every 8 days by vacuuming the kitten litter off the floor. Update – License revoked! Decision reversed on ruling that title of primary taster has historically been held by a girlfriend.

  7. sprue Says:

    I don’t know what you are talking about.

    ;P

  8. insomnisnack Says:

    I don’t know the emoticon for what I’m feeling…

  9. sprue Says:

    Wow, she has great powers, far greater than I expected… I’ll be back.


Leave a Reply

