Insomnisnack

grilled trout, lemon tempura, & olive toasts September 22, 2007

Filed under: fish,food,lemon,tempura,trout — insomnisnack @ 8:58 pm

Here is my first non-vegetarian, or pescatarian meal. On rare occasions I eat seafood (I miss you already, veggies!). This being one, I grilled a small trout, stuffed with lemon, onion, cilantro, garlic, and oregano. I also made tempura (see batter), remembering in a previous post comment that Niece recommended I try using lemon slices. This worked very well! The rind is bitter, but I like bitter, and mellowed by cooking. Perfect company with fish. Mmm. I also prepared broccoli, carrot, onion, yellow potato, and zucchini tempura. To drink I had a refreshing pomegranate spritzer! Give this one a try!

grilled trout

trout and tempura

pomegranate spritzer

 

11 Responses to “grilled trout, lemon tempura, & olive toasts”

  1. denisem718 Says:

    I love this dish! I think grilled trout is a perfect match for the salty olives and grilled bread and the tempura looks very tasty. Very light and crispy, not too much batter. I’m glad the lemon slices worked well. Another great meal!

  2. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks, Niece! That was a great idea to use the lemon – I had never thought to do that so it was fun to try!

  3. curlykale Says:

    Lemon tempura is an inspired idea from Niece! This meal would be comfort food to me, a dream meal. Love the lighting in the fish photo.

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks, I’m so glad!! Let us make this dream meal a reality.

  5. sprue Says:

    I got this course as a surprise as I had just woken up. While the trout was tasty, it was the tempura that was the star. Crispy, crunchy and yet moist and flavorful inside. It was as good as any Japanese restaurant I’ve tasted. The standout of the tempura was the onion rings. Oh yeah, and the appetizer of crouton and olives were a perfect match!

  6. insomnisnack Says:

    Well, thank you! My personal favorite tempura is usually broccoli. This time I daresay it was the lemon! This is a speedy, tasty, affordable meal. $2.50 for the trout, a handful of veggies, some seltzer I was gonna drink anyway + dry ingredients, and you’re in business.

  7. denisem718 Says:

    Thanks everyone for the positive comments about the lemon!

    Niece

  8. katulu Says:

    That sounds incredibly good.

    I’m a huge fish fan.

  9. insomnisnack Says:

    Thank you, and welcome!

  10. curlykale Says:

    re: broccoli tempura–my sister always says of Japanese restaurants, “Sheesh, why don’t they just make it all broccoli, they know we’re going to fight over the one piece they give us anyway!!”&

  11. insomnisnack Says:

    again – connectedness! to Ari: love your humor, you’ll always have an ample serving of broccoli tempura when you dine with me


Leave a Reply

