Insomnisnack

guest star tamales September 30, 2007

Filed under: blueberries,chiles,chocolate,corn,food,kale,nectarine,tamales — insomnisnack @ 10:40 pm

These were twice inspired (and you’re both in PA). The first one is “curly’s kale, corn and queso tamales” (not the sum of ingredients, but I wanted to capitalize on the alliteration). I wanted to make an extra special kale tidbit (even better that it lives in a cozy wrapper!) to honor dear, sweet Larisa who is the sole reason I’m blogging at all, and the curliest kale I know. ❤ The second is “shauna-shortcake mixed fruit tamales.” Shauna, I will not disclose the meaning of your nickname, but if I may tell a side story…I visited Shauna (& Skimmy) in LA many years ago, and during that trip we went to a food stand. ‘Member? It could have been free standing in a neighborhood, or at the farmers market. Anyway, we had dessert tamales with fruit and white chocolate inside. (!) I think of that experience often. So when I was thinking fruit, creme and dough I thought, “shortcake” and therefore, Shauna. Now that I’m finished with the back story, here’s the savory one in prep. The filling consists of kale, green onion, jack cheese, corn, shredded squash, and green chiles.

kale corn queso tamales

And the finished plate (The Tomatoes shown on vacation):

kale corn queso tamales with chiles, green onions and Tomatoes

The dessert tamales have cinnamon sugar in the dough, and blueberries, nectarine, and extra dark organic chocolate inside. shortcakes mixed fruit tamales

and here is the finished version with crème fraîche and dutch cocoa dusting.

shortcakes mixed fruit tamales with Crème fraîche and cocoa

 

8 Responses to “guest star tamales”

  1. denisem718 Says:

    You have outdone yourself! These are both so beautiful and they sound delicious. Maybe we can make tamales when you come to Atlanta in a few weeks. I mean, we will have so much free time on our hands!

    I am really intrigued by the dessert tamal, the combination sounds wonderful.

  2. insomnisnack Says:

    That’s a good one about free time, but I’ve got diapers to change! As I mentioned, the dessert tamal is not my creation, but I’ve embraced it. It’s not long to make these. A quick one-two with the dough, and then I just put in fresh fillings. Mmm!

  3. curlykale Says:

    I’m so touched by this! And you used kale! And shredded squash and jack cheese. Some of my favorite stuff. 😀

    Both types of tamales look delicious, with the savory ones especially alluring to me. The colors on the desert tamales are gorgeous–I love how the corn husk got stained by the berries.

    ❤ ❤

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    Hey ck – I’m glad you like your much deserved tribute!! And I’d hoped they were some of your favorite things. The Tomatoes say “hi”.

    These were really fun to make, and I liked that part of their preparation/process can be decorative. Me too about the stained corn husk – unplanned but I’m happy!

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    Niece – let’s set aside some sister cooking time in ATL!! Whatever you want to make.

  6. oilydal Says:

    i want one of those dessert tamales right now…the pictures are beautiful as well…do you deliver to l.a.?

  7. insomnisnack Says:

    You bet I deliver to LA! In fact, these gift tamales would come with a complimentary side order of babysit. Make that “big kid” sit!!

  8. insomnisnack Says:

    thanks, anonymous, even though yer comment went to spam


Leave a Reply

