Insomnisnack

tenzaru soba October 4, 2007

Filed under: food,noodles,tempura — insomnisnack @ 10:19 pm

Okay, that’s the last of the broccoli! A couple of stalks went a long way…
I also used these little squash, but I can’t remember their name. You’ll see. This is my favorite meal at a nearby noodle restaurant, and when I was in my cupboards the other day I realized I had a package of soba. Destiny!

(Added Oct 5 – these soba are served cold. The sauce I’ve mentioned in the comments is for dipping. If you try this yourselves, I recommend using fresh horseradish/wasabi if at all possible. At my neighborhood place, first you are served the broth, and then you add the grated horseradish, scallions, wasabi paste. I think the following changes would improve the sauce I made: making it more savory, deep and rich. It seems that a fish broth is key…or spending more time in general on the broth. Maybe a miso broth would be tasty! I am not a traditionalist, as you probably have noticed, but I do think that sauce contemplation is in order to truly highlight this special dish.  BTW, they’re “sunburst” squash.)

tenzaru soba

Welcome, Gibson!! (more later)

 

10 Responses to “tenzaru soba”

  1. denisem718 Says:

    This looks very good. Is it tempura veggies, the squash and the broccoli with the soba noodles? Is there any kind of sauce or dressing on the noodles? I love the seaweed garnish. Another visually stunning dish!

  2. curlykale Says:

    yum! I’m wondering about the sauce too. do tell!

  3. insomnisnack Says:

    The sauce (which is *key*) was more tangy than the broth used at my neighborhood restaurant. I used a combo of soy sauce, veggie broth, wasabi, green onion, and light vinegar. I can improve it but it was a good first shot!!

  4. masoneatstoo Says:

    Alecia, where are you working nowadays, and if not a fancy-schmancy restaurant, why not? This food looks awesome!

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    Hi Mason – I work in the public health arena providing technical assistance & training for cultural/linguistic competency issues. Given the 8 jobs in 1 reality of many non-profits, I bet I could add “chef” to my job duties and no one would bat an eye!

  6. denisem718 Says:

    The sauce sounds really good; salty, sour and spicy! Very good!

  7. sprue Says:

    The dipping sauce smelled too vineger-y but I didn’t get to try it. The tempura was great as usual. But the best part of this session was the lightly fried egg plant with powder sugar sprinkles was fantastic. Just melted in my mouth.

  8. insomnisnack Says:

    Oh yeah, I made Fried Eggplant Galatoire’s… I’m a cookin’ fool! That was a really good eggplant dish. We had something similar in ATL during Denise’s birthday bash. Tragically (I must have blocked it out) they were “warming” in the oven too long b/c I made them first, and got botched ’cause I forgot. Alas, no photo.

  9. insomnisnack Says:

    I do recommend the recipe though – no question. visit epicurious and search “fried eggplant galatoire’s”.

  10. quote from RB Says:

    hey I forgot! this was rui bing’s suggestion for the broth. i’m going to try this one again as my next recipe, maybe using winter tubers for the tempura. t’was tastee.

    “i think bonito broth is definitely key. you can make it from the instant powdered kind, kind of like chicken bouillion. or from scratch with bonito flakes and konbu seaweed. it makes a big batch. i just freeze what i don’t use.”


Leave a Reply

