Insomnisnack

banana squash curry and golden quinoa October 8, 2007

Filed under: banana squash,curry,fall,food,quinoa,stews — insomnisnack @ 1:23 am

I’ve mentioned that I’ve found myself in the situation of eating 6 meals in a row of the same dish. What’s the best solution for that? Make two dishes (see previous post)!! I revisited my cache of recipes saved at the epicurious site for this one. I didn’t have much prep because I purchased a quartered squash, and had peeled carrots from a previous dish. It was a pretty quick stew, in fact. All in all, 25 minutes. The quinoa took about 20 minutes to cook. I left out the onion, but kept the garlic and turmeric for color. I like to bring my lunch to work, and this one will be a nice reminder of the weekend.

banana squash stew

quinoa and curry

 

11 Responses to “banana squash curry and golden quinoa”

  1. denisem718 Says:

    This looks like the perfect fall dish. The colors of the stew are wonderful and it just sounds so warming. And healthy!

  2. curlykale Says:

    I was just going to say so warming!

    So golden too. I want to eat this with you.

  3. sprue Says:

    This was a fantastic one. I didn’t know the grain used so I went in not sure, but it turned out super delicious! The potatoes were cooked just right for rich but soft texture and the tangy tomato and spice sauce was perfect for the grain. I was pretty full by then having eaten all of Leah’s leftover pizza but I kept eating until I cleaned the plate! booyah

  4. sprue Says:

    Oh, it was squash not potatoes… huh

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    Fall is here! Here is some related info for all of you: this meal is pretty healthy, low in fat, and a good source of protein (12-18%). I feel warm 🙂 I am available at all times to eat this with you. Quinoa is being considered as a possible crop in NASA’s Controlled Ecological Life Support System for long-duration manned spaceflights.

  6. curlykale Says:

    I adore quinoa.

  7. insomnisnack Says:

    Good! We’ll have it together, no?

  8. denisem718 Says:

    I’m glad to hear that it is so nutritious, I’m also glad to hear that it actually tasted as good as it looked!

    I thinking a “warming” dish is the new fall culinary trend, who agrees?

  9. insomnisnack Says:

    Aye!!

  10. insomnisnack Says:

    Just had this tasteeness for lunch! It’s been rainy weather here so this was a nice cozy moment.

  11. curlykale Says:

    yes together!


Leave a Reply

