Insomnisnack

panini: two choices to love October 8, 2007

Filed under: food,golden produce,heirloom tomatoes,panini — insomnisnack @ 12:46 am

Looking back, I recall a prompt to make panini. Thanks, Niece! Well here you go…two versions to recreate in ATL when I visit in two weeks (I’m counting down!!). I love fruit, and fruit sweetness, so I decided to make a pear-jack cheese-apricot spread-red onion panino. GP did not disappoint in the pear department. They have about 5 varieties right now. Or more!

pear panino

pear panino plate

And then I made an heirloom tomato-fresh mozzarella-grilled green onion panino. I’m feeling lucky!!

tomato panino

panino

Two cast iron skillets worked for me as an impromptu sandwich press. Set one atop the other, gave it a good smoosh, and the weight did the rest. Enjoy!

 

8 Responses to “panini: two choices to love”

  1. denisem718 Says:

    I’m a little late on my comments, but you know how I love panini! The tomato, mozarella and grilled green onion made my mouth water. What a great idea to grill the green onion. But I can’t wait to try and make the pear, jack cheese and apricot spread panini. That sounds like such a good combination of sweet and savory. I may grill my red onions, make them into kind of a chutney. So many good ideas come from your postings!

  2. curlykale Says:

    What great contrasts in the pear, jack cheese and apricot one!

    I must learn to avoid these posts if I don’t want to become hungry.

    I love your impromptu sandwich press. I often do that, but with my lousy Ikea pans, and without the cast iron and special quilting of the grill marks.

  3. sprue Says:

    I didn’t have this (no room possible) but it looked great.

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    Niece, I’m having the tmggo panino right now…first taste and it is good! I’ll have the pear/apricot/jack one for dinner or tomorrow’s lunch. We are gonna hit your local grocer on the way home from the airport and make midnight panini!!!!!

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    Hey L, glad to hear I’m making you hungry! I need to know more of your favorites, I think. I am happy to have the cast iron pans. One was a gift, but the other grill one was purchased from my neighborhood “Handy Handyman Hardware” store for $7ish!! $12ish!! (maybe you should ask the harvest fairy for one?) I’ve also heard you can wrap a brick in aluminium foil.

  6. insomnisnack Says:

    Next time, Andy!

  7. Karen Says:

    That looks wonderful! It shows you don’t have to buy an expensive panini appliance to make perfect paninis. Like you, I just use my square cast iron grill pan (makes great grill marks) and a cast iron press to make mine. When one side is done (takes about 3 minutes) I just flip it, and put the press back on, and it’s done in another 2 or 3 minutes. A friend of mine bought and expensive panini maker which broke after one year. These cast iron pans last forever…:-))

  8. insomnisnack Says:

    Karen – I agree. Cast iron is for life! Thanks for your comments 🙂


Leave a Reply

