Insomnisnack

ginger cupcake with candied ginger cream October 21, 2007

Filed under: baked goods — insomnisnack @ 11:28 pm

My father passed away in 2005, but he still is with me every day – sitting across from me on the MUNI train, in a stranger’s smile, and in the person i strive to be. I’ve never known a more patient, kind person. Ask anyone who knew him. This gingerbread cake is a childhood favorite (my mom’s recipe), with my own twist. She can bake like the dickens and he loved every pie, cake, tea cookie, and pumpkin bread from her kitchen.

I love you, Dad!

John Robinson
October 21, 1940 – February 10, 2005

ginger cupcakes

ginger cupcake with candied ginger cream

JR

 

11 Responses to “ginger cupcake with candied ginger cream”

  1. denisem718 Says:

    Well, it may not be professional to cry at work, but who cares! If you don’t win the contest with this entry, there is no justice in the world!

    I am so proud of you, what a wonderful way to keep Dad alive in your heart and in your kitchen. I have the best sister in the world, no exaggeration.

    Love,

    Niece

  2. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks, Niece! Your heart is just like Dad’s. How about we share having “the best sister in the world”. I always have and always will look up to you!

  3. curlykale Says:

    This made me cry.

    I see your dad’s face in you. That’s a wonderful photo.

    The cupcake is beautiful too.

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    Larisa, my dad sees you and is happy.

  5. sprue Says:

    Cheers to Mr. Robinson!

    I had three of them:

    The first time I didn’t have the ginger candy. 😦 The sweet frosting was perfect with the moist and rich cake.

    The second time I took it to work the next day with the frosting in a tiny glass cup that Alecia saves from a delicious dessert store in the Ferry Building (some kind of butterscotch froo-froo).

    The third time I finally had it with the ginger candy and it was even yummier!

  6. insomnisnack Says:

    Nice cupcake progression! You had it in every form except “plain”. I like that candied ginger chew, too.

    Froo-froo? I prefer to say “artisan”.

  7. insomnisnack Says:

    Actually you get a dollar off if you return the glass jars to Miete but I can’t seem to let go!

  8. Anty Says:

    Those cupcakes look so beautiful. Would mind sharing the recipe?

  9. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks, I will post the recipe!

  10. hifa Says:

    hi ites relly cupcake made with felling ginger give u warm like your dad so if u dont mind post the recipe?

  11. insomnisnack Says:

    uh oh…niece! what is the recipe? i’ve packed it away in my SF time capsule.


Leave a Reply

