Insomnisnack

harvest dinner – I made out like a bandit!! November 7, 2007

Filed under: fall,food,holiday — insomnisnack @ 11:47 pm

(photo credits: larisa and bianca)

Day of, Larisa arrives with her cart (name pending) containing the following items:

potatoes, thin green beans and maple
broccoli with sicilian sauce
squash with chestnuts and pomegranates
scary cheese ball with garlic crisps
pear beet greens with champagne vinaigrette
magical sangria ingredients
pumpkin roll cake
pumpkin cookies with brown butter icing
savory stuffed puff pastry roll
and a totally yummy dessert that is just like my mom’s prized pumpkin bread!

Usually this blog displays foodvisuals, but this night was captured in a slightly different way. Thanks to all of our friends who shared their nights and hearts. And a special thank you, Larisa, for making this a truly mesmerizing day and evening!

l and a

l and chandra

anna and rui bing

chandra

alecia and leah

harvest bouquet

veronica and bianca

larisa

harvest bouquet 2

harvest group

l-aughing

 

8 Responses to “harvest dinner – I made out like a bandit!!”

  1. curlykale Says:

    hooray!!

  2. denisem718 Says:

    This must have been a wonderful party! Everyone looks like they were having a great time. I wish I could have been there. I love the list of wonderful foods that Larisa brought, I think I recognize the broccoli with sicilian sauce from one of the flood of cooking magazines I received this month. A fellow foodie!

  3. curlykale Says:

    yes Denise very observant! I love that you caught that. 🙂 it was from Saveur.

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    hey L! a very special night. thank you.

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    I wish you’d been there too, Niece! Next time. the menu/list was totally incredible! and I’m sure the first five minutes of our encounter once Larisa arrived involved me staring in delight and disbelief at the bounty. she just kept lifting gourmet dishes out her bags one after the other. yummy!

  6. denisem718 Says:

    Larisa, I love Saveur, it is one of my favorites. I think just to give a nod to the good old days, I am going to make their version of Green Bean Casserole for our Thanksgiving dinner. I never liked the Campbell Soup version, but their recipe looks wonderful.

    I have been tasked with bringing a veggie side dish and rolls. I am also thinking of making a glazed carrot dish from this month’s Gourmet. Of course my mom will be making her famous Caramel Cake, it is out of this world!

  7. curlykale Says:

    That green bean casserole recipe was calling me too. Those Thanksgiving ideas all sound delicious! I want to see pictures.

    A., thank *you* for a very special night!

  8. sprue Says:

    I only got to have the pumpkin cookie and it was delicious!

    I would have stayed for the wonderful company if not for the fact that it was not almost, but all women. Not that that’s a problem but I thought it would be nice to have a no-man party for you all.


Leave a Reply

