Insomnisnack

baked kabocha squash with vegetable stew December 2, 2007

Filed under: food,kabocha,seitan,stews,winter — insomnisnack @ 7:51 pm

Thanks for the kabocha cuteness, i can has cheeseburgers  !!

This was originally planned for the Harvest Dinner menu, but by the end of dinner I was still carving into the pumpkin. Another time, perhaps? Yes.

I couldn’t find a pumpkin so I used this kabocha squash, which has a very hard, green, bumpy skin and shocking orange flesh. Since the end result has a lid I took off the stem and thin layer before cooking. Safety first when cutting into this thing!! First I brushed the kabocha with oil, seasoned it with salt, and I baked the whole thing for 30 min at 350, then 30 min at 400.

I scooped the insides (could not take out the inner flesh while raw – this is a very hard squash) after it baked and spooned in the stew. This made me happy!

roasted kabocha

stew in kabocha

kabocha with lid

 

8 Responses to “baked kabocha squash with vegetable stew”

  1. curlykale Says:

    Here it is!! Yes. I love kabocha. Pray tell more about the stew. Was it the same one you were preparing that day? All fennelly goodness?

  2. insomnisnack Says:

    I share your kabocha love. Yes, it was the same stew recipe (see link above) but didn’t have mushrooms for this, and I made it a little spicy. MmmM! I wish you could share it with me. Next time, okay?

  3. greeneggsnham Says:

    Hi there, Insomnisnack!

    My name is Shannon and I’m the editorial assistant at Foodbuzz.com. I am very impressed with the quality of your posts and to that end, I’d like to invite you to be a part of our newly launched Foodbuzz Featured Publisher program. I would love to send you more details about the program, so if you are interested, please email me at Shannon@foodbuzz.com.

    Cheers!

    Shannon Eliot
    Editorial Assistant, Foodbuzz.com
    shannon@foodbuzz.com

    P.S. I think your pictures are amazing! What type of species/varietal is the pumpkin?

  4. denisem718 Says:

    The stew does look delicious, I would love to know what ingredients were used. I am lusting after the gnocchi. I love gnocchi but sometimes they are too dense and heavy. Yours look very light. I love brown butter and sage, perfect combination. If you are looking for another sauce, perhaps a very light cream sauce with some blue cheese added in. I think the saltiness of the blue cheese would work well with the
    gnocchi.

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks, Ms. Eliot! I appreciate your comments. The squash is a japanese winter pumpkin/squash called kabocha. Very tasty!!

  6. insomnisnack Says:

    Niece, the stew is a slightly altered recipe from epicurious (see post for recipe).
    It’s mostly roasted shallots, root vegetables, and seitan (wheat gluten that mimics meat) all stewed together.
    Tastiness!

  7. Sophie Says:

    This looks like a yummy recipe for Fall! I love how even the ‘dish’ is edible :).

    We would like to feature your squash recipe on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks 🙂

    You can view our blog here:
    blog.keyingredient.com/

  8. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks, Sophie! It’s very tasty and you can include whatever ingredients you like or have around.


Leave a Reply

