Insomnisnack

Oat and Brown Sugar Coffee Cake January 21, 2008

Filed under: baked goods,breakfast,brunch,dessert,food — insomnisnack @ 8:53 pm

This one was a great recipe from Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone. Delish! I only made it (honestly it was before the holidays and I forgot to post the photos) because I wanted some breakfast cake, but didn’t want to go shopping. Well, look no further. This one was so short, I will include the recipe. Moisty!!!

1 cup rolled oats, preferably noninstant
1/4 pound (1/2 cup) butter
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 eggs at room temperature
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup Pecan Streusel, which is just your choice of nut (I used almonds), sugar, butter, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a 1/2 cup flour all crumbled together

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Spray or butter and flour a 9 x 12 inch baking dish.

Pour 1 1/2 cups boiling water over the oats and set them aside. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then add the eggs one at a time. Scrape down the bowl and continue beating until the mixture is smooth, then add the vanilla, cinnamon, and oats. Combine the dry ingredients and stir them in with a rubber scraper or wooden spoon. Pour into the prepared baking dish, cover with streusel, and bake until a skewer comes out clean – about 35 minutes.

whole oatmeal coffee cake

oatmeal coffee cake

 

7 Responses to “Oat and Brown Sugar Coffee Cake”

  1. Sprue Says:

    This was really delicious. I think I had at least four servings.

  2. insomnisnack Says:

    Yeah, that one was easy to make, and pretty tasty. It was like a nutty sweet bowl of oatmeal within each slice….mmm.

  3. denisem718 Says:

    I think I will make this when I get home. I need to do something homey to erase the memory of cross-country travel!

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    You should make it! Erase everything but me 🙂

  5. curlykale Says:

    so moist looking. oaty goodness. going to make it today.

  6. insomnisnack Says:

    oh good!! so glad you will make it. let me know what you think.

    mmm, I should make it on sundays to take during the week. it keeps pretty well, and is a nice homemade touch as breakfast or anytime snack. i think dried fruit would go well as part of the crumble topping!!

  7. Marco Says:

    I haven’t had a really good coffee cake for a long time. I’m a fan of oatmeal cookies. This looks scrumptious to say the least.


Leave a Reply

