Insomnisnack

corn chowder with lobster medallions February 12, 2008

Filed under: corn,food,lobster,potatoes,soups — insomnisnack @ 12:03 am

Mmm! I haven’t made soup in a while, and this was delicious. Can’t wait to have it for lunch tomorrow! You can of course make this with cream, but I pureed half of the soup and then added it back to the pot for a sense-of-cream. I had a hunch for a recipe, and it was quite short.  Now that I think of it, you might always have a similar group of ingredients, which means a lovely chowder is often right around the corner!

large onion
salt, course black pepper, cayenne
2 cups corn
4 potatoes, cubed
4 cups vegetable stock

…and of course – lobster!

I softened the onions in butter and olive oil for about five minutes then added the potatoes for another eight to ten minutes. Finally, the corn. Talk about quick! I parboiled the lobster tail, sliced it into rings, and browned them in butter.

chowder

 

10 Responses to “corn chowder with lobster medallions”

  1. denisem718 Says:

    Looks absolutely delicious, the perfect thing for a winter day. I wish I was eating it sitting on the Hahbah!

  2. curlykale Says:

    ooooo… yum. just yum. my mouth is watering.

  3. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks, Niece! I have to say, it was even better days two-three. I have enough for a good sized bowl at lunch tomorrow. Yay!!

  4. insomnisnack Says:

    Hey, Larisa! Thanks for the advice on themed soups. This one’s a keeper 🙂

  5. anon. Says:

    What a great blog. You are a true artist with food.

  6. insomnisnack Says:

    Thanks, anonymous!

  7. Sprue Says:

    Another delicious plate that I had the fortune of tasting albeit only a single piece o’ the lobster. Buttery sweet and juicy and the chowder was a perfect compliment to the crustacean! 4 out of 5 stars.

  8. Dana Says:

    YUM!!! I just finished dinner but would make room for a bowl of that soup were it in front of me!

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks, Andy! It’s nice that you never turn down a tasting opportunity. Maybe I’ll put a suggestion box in the kitchen…

  10. Anonymous Says:

    Hey Dana! Thanks!! Actually I’ve designed the post for you. It’s a surprise, but I ran it by Niece and she thought it was fitting. Stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

