Insomnisnack

tempeh “fish” sticks and broccoli with shells August 30, 2008

Filed under: broccoli,food,pasta,savory,tempeh — insomnisnack @ 4:35 pm
Tags: , , ,

Tempeh out of the package resembles the shimmery metallic rainbow of a fish’s skin.  So I got to thinking, not fish sticks but “tempeh-sticks”!  One bite and you get nutty, toasty goodness with quite a bit of protein.  These brown and crisp up very well, but if you’re really in need of a crust I guess you could bread with panko before baking or frying.  I popped the lightly seasoned broccoli and tempeh sticks into a 500 degree oven.  The rest is history.  I did use a good amount of salt because both tasted pretty good with a salty kick.  I tossed the broccoli and tempeh-sticks in with the pasta, added a bit of olive oil, topped mine with a little parmesean and dinner was served.

 

11 Responses to “tempeh “fish” sticks and broccoli with shells”

  1. drcorner Says:

    Lol, that looks better than it sounds. I also like that crunchy, slightly salty kick taste with my seafood (but not overdone).

    I’ve just finished writing about some more tasty bites, please check it out, and comment on what you think. Thanks, I appreciate it.

    http://drcorner.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/this-labor-day-barbecue-like-a-rockstar/

  2. denisem718 Says:

    I’m not jumping on the tempeh bandwagon yet, everything else in the recipe looks yummy!

    The “fish skin” comment threw me for a loop.

  3. insomnisnack Says:

    “I know fish skin tastes good, but that didn’t sound good,” says Niece. Funny!

  4. Dana Says:

    I love tempeh and like the baking idea. I usually pan fry it with a little soy sauce and sesame oil….nice and crispy! Come on Denise, get with it and try it!! 🙂

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    you tell her, Dana! sooo good.

  6. denisem718 Says:

    Maybe Dana and I need to have a tempeh cooking class day. I need to see it (and taste it) to believe it!

  7. insomnisnack Says:

    well i could see you liking it even if it doesn’t become a meat replacement. it’s nutty and you can brine it and it would be great in a stir fry!

  8. Andy Says:

    This one looks yummy! Broccoli is the new broccoli.

  9. insomnisnack Says:

    that’s my new favorite catchphrase! yes, you would have liked it. when i come for a visit i’ll cook for sure.

  10. curlykale Says:

    i really like tempeh. although if i eat too much of it i feel weird, like any grain or legumey thing. but it’s yummy and this looks good!

  11. insomnisnack Says:

    i feel that way with mushrooms but love ’em anyway. and ice cream!


Leave a Reply

