Insomnisnack

cheddar cauliflower is the new potato September 6, 2008

Filed under: cheddar cauliflower,food — insomnisnack @ 5:51 pm
Tags: , , ,

Mashed cheddar cauliflower is yummy.  It’s sooo hot here the last couple days, and somehow I can’t stop roasting veggies.  Mark and Jay invited me to come along to Haymarket this morning.  They are wonderful, and it truly has been a pleasure to spend quality time with my cousin and family.  I was able to procure two heads of cheddar cauliflower, two bunches of asparagus, 4 golden pluots, and a case of mangos for $6.  Crazy!  The food is all ready to eat and if you aren’t, it will be too ripe before you know it.  But I am ready to eat.  I gotta remember that my camera’s battery has only the life of a fly before I arrange my plate.  Only got two off-color snaps, slightly out of focus, before it went.  Anyway, I wanted to make this dish at Alice’s one night, but didn’t get the chance to mash.  So here we are.  To make the mashed cauliflower, roast head of cheddar cauliflower with several chopped cloves of garlic and half a diced onion.  When tender, use a blender to mix (I added a bit of water) until nearly smooth.  Enjoy!

 

5 Responses to “cheddar cauliflower is the new potato”

  1. bianca Says:

    alecia! i still visit your blog from time to time. it looks like you you enjoying your new home. excellent! thanks for this post. i forgot all about mashed cauliflower. it is delicious and i will be making some sooooon!

  2. insomnisnack Says:

    Hey Bianca nice to see you here, and I definitely appreciate your reading the blog! wish you could have joined me for dinner, but I’m glad to hear that you’re bringing back an old favorite. lemme know if you’re ever in Boston!

  3. denisem718 Says:

    This looks delicious and a good way to enjoy more veggies while still having the feeling of comfort food. I’m going to give this one a try this weekend.

  4. curlykale Says:

    at first i got excited cause i thought it was actually cauliflower that tasted like cheddar. but in the end this is even more exciting. mm yummy. and all that fruit and veg for $6!

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    it was sooo much for $6. haymarket is really something special. we could put some really sharp cheddar in there with a little chili. mmm


Leave a Reply

