Insomnisnack

vietnamese sandwich with tofu: Bánh mì September 14, 2008

Filed under: Bánh mì,food,jalapeño,sandwich,tofu — insomnisnack @ 4:56 pm
Tags: , , , ,

No need to give up Vietnamese sandwiches now that I’m in Boston.  Funny, because these simple, tasty sandwiches were a favorite when I trekked to Berkeley for class.  Eric and Danielle took me to a little restaurant, New Saigon Sandwich (?), before we went for a great day at the Institute of Contemporary Art.  I will return, but until then I will prepare Bánh mì as best as I can.  The roll is everything, and I could only get bread at Stop and Shop.  I believe I saw the authentic rolls at Haymarket a couple weekends ago.  Otherwise, I fried cubes of tofu, added jalapeño, cilantro, and carrot into a buttered french roll.  The beauty of it is that I get to have this for lunch tomorrow.  Try it yourself!

 

10 Responses to “vietnamese sandwich with tofu: Bánh mì”

  1. insomnisnack Says:

    not sure if you mean the photo lighting or the dish. photo, yes, but the dish traditionally has sliced pork, or pate so if you want something “heartier” maybe that’s the route to go

  2. denisem718 Says:

    I think it looks delicious and I like the perfectly themed dinnerware. The dish does usually have pate and I have seen some yummy vegetarian pates. Most contain mushrooms. Maybe that would be a fun addition next time you make this sandwich.

  3. insomnisnack Says:

    mmm, vegetarian pate! that actually makes me think of the post i want to create for dana (don’t tell! — maybe we can make it over the holidays?)

  4. Dana Says:

    Uh oh….I saw your comments! I’ll forget what I saw! But can I say “YUM”? I love bahn mis and now that my favorite place closed I have not had one in ages. Love the idea of frying the tofu. Mmmm
    Can’t wait for your visit.
    D

  5. insomnisnack Says:

    I’m terrible with surprises anyway. I have been thinking of your post for a while, now, and hope to make it while home over the holidays. Can’t wait to visit!

  6. Bob LaGatta Says:

    It’s good to know that I’m not alone when it comes to writing articles about quality, good food. And I love sharing good recipes too

    I’ll better check the archived posts from your site. Ciao!
    https://www.technocooks.com

  7. curlykale Says:

    oh damn.

  8. insomnisnack Says:

    yup. yummy.

  9. curlykale Says:

    ow ow ow. just re-reading. and crying a little in my ribs for this.

    • insomnisnack Says:

      you are only a short train ride from downtown berkeley (what’s that little place on the corner down the street from warren hall? on shattuck, i think. we ate there.) so we will go there when i am next in town. or i can always make it for you!


Leave a Reply

